Cyndy-bio-photo2.jpgThe Cyndy McDonald Service Award was established in 2009 to honor our founder. Since 1997 when HECA began, Cyndy has served on the Board of Directors, mentored countless new consultants, and chaired numerous HECA conferences.

Kit Prager, an early Board member, writes, "HECA truly exists because of Cyndy's perseverance, determination and grit. We all benefited from her vision. I've never known anyone who worked so tirelessly for the benefit of our profession."

HECA members are encouraged to nominate colleagues who have demonstrated outstanding service to HECA by completing and submitting the McDonald Service Award Nomination Form.


The Cyndy McDonald Service Award is granted annually to recognize outstanding service to HECA by a HECA member.


  • All HECA members except past recipients, current Board members, current conference chairs, the previous year's conference chairs, and the following year's conference chairs are eligible for consideration.

  • Nominees must be HECA members in good standing at the time of nomination and award.


  • Nominations are solicited from the general membership.    

  • Selection is based on volunteer service to HECA as presented in the nomination submission.

  • Recognized service may be a singular contribution or continued participation in a HECA activity or committee.

  • The Volunteer Committee will review all submitted nominations, select a recipient, and make a recommendation for approval by the HECA Board.

  • Up to one (1) recipient may be selected.


The recipient receives complimentary early bird registration for the upcoming HECA annual conference and recognition at the HECA annual conference.


Nominations must be received by February 15.  Nominations received after the deadline will not be considered.

Past award winners:

2016 Mel Preimesberger
2015 Mary Harkins
2014 Vicki O'Day and Maureen Chang
2013 No Award
2012  Richard Porth
2011 Claire Friedlander
2010 Elizabeth White
Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software